Festivals of India – For Students and Children In English

Indian Festivals

India is well known all over the world as a country of cultural and traditional festivals as it has many cultures and religions. One can enjoy the festival celebration in India every month. As it is a secular country full of diversity in the religions, languages, cultures and castes, it is always crowded with the people involved in the fairs and festivals celebration. People from each religion have their own cultural and traditional festivals.

Some of the festivals are celebrated by the people of all religions in the entire nation. Each and every festival is celebrated uniquely in different ways according to the rituals, beliefs and its significant history behind. Each festival has its own history, legend and significance of celebration. Indian origin people in the abroad also celebrate their cultural festival with the immense passion.

India is a country with example of unity in diversity as it contains people of various religions like Hindu, Muslim, Sikh, Jain, Christian and etc. Some of the festivals are celebrated at national level whereas some of are at regional level. According to the religions and rituals, festivals have been categorized into following categories:

Hindu Festivals

There are lots of cultural and traditional festivals celebrated by the people of Hindu religion all over the world. Hinduism is considered as the oldest organized religion of the world as well as counted as the third largest religion of the world. Each Hindu festival celebration has a special ritual to be celebrated in that way by the act of worship, offerings to deities, offering Ganga Jal, fasting, bathing in Ganga jal in early morning, feasting, Dan, Dakshina, Puja, Katha, Hoom, aarti and so many. All the people of Hindu religion celebrate their festivals by uniting together in community without any distinction of age, caste and gender.

The dates of the Hindu festivals are fixed according to the dates of the Hindu calendar, lunar calendar which depends on the sun and moon movements throughout the year. Some of the festivals of Hindu are celebrated as the historical mythology, some for seasonal changes and some for cleaning and keeping the environment safe. Some of the festivals celebrations are limited to the specific sects or Indian subcontinent regions.

There are many believes in the Hinduism because of various historical sculptures (Bhagavad Gita, Mahabharata and Ramayana), ancient and sacred religious text (Rig Veda, Sama Veda, Yajur Veda and Atharva Veda), Hindus deities and etc. The birth and death anniversaries of the god and goddess are also celebrated in the Hinduism with lots of fun and frolic activities such as music, dance and etc. Below is the list of all the Hindu festivals:

Festivals in 2020

 

Hindu Festivals Date – 2020
Lohri 13 January, Monday
Makar Sankranti 15 January, Wednesday
Pongal 15 January (Wednesday) – 18 January (Saturday)
Vasant Panchami 29 January, Wednesday
Thaipusam 8 February, Saturday
Maha Shivaratri 21 February, Friday
Holika Dahan 9 March, Monday
Holi 10 March, Tuesday
Chaitra Navratri 25 March, Wednesday to 3 April, Friday
Ugadi/Telugu New Year 25 March, Wednesday
Gangaur Festival 10 March, Tuesday to 27 March, Friday
Mewar Festival 27 March, Friday – 29 March, Sunday
Ram Navami 2 April, Thursday
Vishu Festival 14 April, Tuesday
Mahavir Jayanti 6 April, Monday
Hanuman Jayanti 8 April, Wednesday
Rath Yatra 23 June, Tuesday
Guru Purnima 5 July, Sunday
Onam 22 August, Saturday to 2 September, Wednesday
Raksha Bandhan 3 August, Monday
Kumbh Mela 10 January, Friday to 9 February, Sunday
Janmashtami 11 August, Tuesday
Ramlila 8 October, Tuesday‎ to 25 October, Sunday
Ganesh Chaturthi 22 August, Saturday
Brahmotsavam 30 September,  Monday to 8 October, Tuesday  **
Pitr Paksh 1 September, Tuesday to 16 September, Wednesday
Rambarat 17 September, Tuesday to 19 September, Thursday **
Sharad Navratra 17 October, Saturday to 25 October, Sunday
Dussehra 25 October, Sunday
Maharishi Valmiki jayanti 31 October, Saturday
Karva Chauth 4 November, Wednesday
Dev Uthani Ekadashi 25 November, Wednesday
Dhanteras 13 November, Friday
Diwali 15 November, Sunday
Govardhan Puja 16 November, Monday
Bhai Dooj 17 November, Tuesday
Chhath Puja 20 November, Friday
Also Read  Rise of Nationalist Movements in India – 1867 - For Students and Children In English

Muslim Festivals

All the people of Muslim religion enthusiastically celebrate their all the Islamic festivals all over the world. There are many religious festivals which they celebrate with great passion and dedication by following the date of their Islamic calendar. Some of the very important Islam festivals are Ramzan (Ramadan), Id-e-Milad, Muharram, Bakr-Id and etc which they celebrate in special ways by offering prayers in the mosques, feasting, fasting and wishing to each other.

They decorate their homes with colored lights and other things in the evening and celebrate throughout the night by getting together. Some of the Islamic festivals have been declared as the public holiday in the educational institutions, government offices and other working place. Islam was founded by the spiritualist Muhammad around the 7th century which has become the 2nd largest religion worldwide. The Islam has five most significant Pillars such as “Shahadah (Faith), Salah (Prayer), Zakah (Donate), Sawm (Fasting) and Hajj (Pilgrimage)”. Below is the list of all Muslim festivals:

Muslim Festivals Date – 2020
Barawafat 29 October, Thursday
Giaravahin Sharif 26 November, Thursday
Hazarat Ali’s Birthday 21 March, Saturday
Shab E Miraj 21 March, Saturday
Shab-e-Barat 8 April Wednesday to 9 April Thursday
Jamat-Ul-Vida 21 May Thursday to 22 May Friday
Id-ul-Fitr (Ramzan Eid) 23 May Saturday to 24 May Sunday
Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid or Eid Ul-Adha) 30 July, Thursday 31 July, Friday
Muharram 21 August, Friday

Sikh Festivals

As India is considered as the country of numerous religions, cultures and traditions that’s why it is known as having unity in diversity. People of Sikh religion have lots of unique and ritual festivals which they celebrate with full courage and enjoyment. They commemorate the lives of their 10 Sikh gurus including their teachings. Some Hindu festivals are also celebrated by the people of Sikh religion having different reasons of celebration.

All the worship at the festival in Sikhism is directed towards the holy book called “the Guru Granth Sahib” which was first compiled by the Sikh guru, Guru Nanak and later edited by the Sikh Guru, Arjan. The Guru Granth of the Sikh religion has the place of deity among people and taken out on a palanquin in the public processions while celebrating any Sikh festival. They involve lots of music and religious songs, readings from the holy book, holy songs, singing of gurbani while celebrating their festivals in order to attach with God. Below is the list of all Sikh festivals:

 

Also Read  Pros and Cons of Privatization - For Students and Children In English
Sikh Festivals Date – 2020
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti 2 January, Thursday
Lohri 13 January, Monday
Holla Mohalla 10 March Tuesday to 12 March Thursday
Sodal mela 12 September, Thursday **
Guru Ramdass Ji Birthday 9 October, Friday
Guru Nanak Jayanti 30 November, Monday

Jain Festivals

People from Jain religion have lots of rituals and religious ceremonies to be celebrated as the festival. Their rituals belong to the idol worships in various ways and festivals belong to the life events of Tirthankara which involves the purification of the soul. Their rituals are divided in two parts named Karya and Kriya. According to the Jain Svetambara there are six obligatory duties called Six Avashyakas which are “Chaturvishnati-stava: praising Tirthankaras, Kayotsarga: meditation, Pratikramana: expiation of past sins, Pratyakhyana: renunciation of anything, Samyika: practising serenity and meditation and Vandan: respecting teachers and ascetics”.

According to the Jain Digambara there are six duties which are “Dana: charity, Devapuja: worship of Tirthankaras, Guru-upashti: respecting teachers and ascetics, Sanyam: controlling self by following different rules, Swadhyaya: studying spiritual texts and Tapa: austerities” which has been involved as a fundamental ritual activities of the Jains. Below is the list of all Jain festivals:

Jain Festivals Date – 2020
Deep Diwali 29 November, Sunday
Mahamastak Abhishek 17 February, Saturday to 25 February, Sunday **
Mahavir Jayanti 6 April, Monday
Paryushan 16 August, Sunday to 23 August, Sunday

Christian Festivals

As India is a land of variety of cultures and ethnicity because of celebrating lots of colorful festivals by the people of different religions. People of the Christian religion celebrate their festivals like Christmas, Easter, Good Friday and etc with big enthusiasm and fun filled activities. People from other religions also become involve in the Christmas celebrations which proves the unity in diversity of India.

There are various famous places in India where the Christian festivals are celebrated such as Goa as most of the oldest and beautiful churches are there. They do feast, prayers and processions while celebrating their festivals. Below is the list of all Christian festivals:

Christian Festivals Date – 2020
Good Friday 10 April, Friday
Easter 12 April, Sunday
Christmas 25 December, Friday

Buddhist Festivals

People from Buddhist religion celebrate their festivals well connected to their Lord Buddha and the Bodhisattvas. It is considered that the Buddhist festivals were first started by the lord Buddha and He advised his followers to be in touch with each other to strengthen their bond. Buddhist has their own beliefs and rituals of celebrating historical festivals. They do worship of the historical objects while celebrating their festivals.

Their festivals become more religious, spiritual and intellectual which are not restricted to any service of the community. Below is the list of all the Buddhist festivals:

Buddhist Festivals Date – 2020
Losar 24 February, Monday to 26 February, Wednesday
Buddha Purnima 7 May, Thursday
Hemis Gompa 30 June, Tuesday to 1 July, Wednesday
Ullambana 2 September, Wednesday